Article: Strictly Come Dancing stars announce Grimsby show

HUNDREDS of talented youngsters shared the stage with Grimsby dancing sensations Kevin and Joanne Clifton for a fun-filled children’s show.

Toy Box, an annual dance showcase aimed at children and families, was performed at Grimsby Auditorium on Friday.

Choreographed by Kevin’s parents Keith and Judy Clifton, of the renowned Clifton’s Dance Academy, Toy Box saw around 200 performers take to the stage.

And they were joined by Strictly Come Dancing stars Joanne and Kevin Clifton, as well as his fiancee Karen Hauer.

Kevin’s sister Joanne co-compered the show alongside her parents, while Kevin and Karen also made the journey up from London to perform a special routine.

Keith and Judy have been organisers for more than 20 years, and the performers are all members of the Clifton’s Dance Academy.

Rehearsals for the Toy Box show have been taking place for the past six months and have been held during classes across Grimsby, Stallingborough, Waltham, Immingham and Cleethorpes.

But Kevin, Joanne and Karen were undoubtedly the main attraction.

Kevin said: “It’s wicked to be back, it always is. I have really fond memories of this dance show. After all, I’ve been performing in it since I was a little kid.

“Dad asked if we could come back and get involved and fortunately the show coincided with our one spare day.”

Kevin also revealed he will be returning to the Auditorium on Saturday, May 23, for a repeat of An Evening With Karen And Kevin From Grimsby, which appeared for the first time last year.

“It was just meant to be a one-off last year when we had to basically organise a whole show in two weeks. It was so last minute.

“Since then we’ve been asked over and over again if it will be appearing this year, so we thought why not.

“We’re hoping to get some special guests involved but we’re waiting on confirmation.”

“We have been extremely busy,” Karen added. “We finished the Strictly tour not so long ago and since then we’ve just been doing our own gigs and shows.

“The tour itself was fantastic and is always such good fun. It was great to have all three of us involved as well, it was like one big family tour.

“The energy from the celebrities was fantastic and we could really feel the love.

“It’s always nice to see all the little kids perform and you never know, there could be a future Kevin or Joanne from Grimsby among them!”

Karen also added that she is still planning the couples’ wedding, which will take place this summer. Kevin’s sister Joanne, who appeared in Strictly for the first time last year, sang two songs for the packed audience.

“I don’t have a partner so I decided I would sing instead,” she said. “Usually I’m dancing with a crab but unfortunately I couldn’t find one to dance with tonight.”

She was referring to her infamous Under The Sea performance with Strictly partner Scott Mills.

“I’ve been dancing for 27 years now as well, so I thought I’d try something different.

“But I actually had singing lessons from a very young age in Grimsby but stopped when I moved to Italy. So it’s only right now I’m back here to start up singing again.”

Erin Slater, from the Unique Academy Of Dance, said it was amazing to perform alongside professional dancers who she looks up to.

“They really are an inspiration for us,” the 14-year-old said. “I want to be a dance teacher when I’m older but I would always love to go on something like Strictly.”

Gabrielle Winn, 16, added: “I’m really looking to performing. I always watch them on TV but I can’t pick a favourite out of them, they’re all great.”

Find out how you could join the trio on stage next month in tomorrow’s Grimsby Telegraph.

Source: Grimsby Telegraph

Leave a comment